1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

Mixed emotions

Discussion in 'Rebooting in a Relationship' started by Ayitripleone, Jul 22, 2019.

1. Ayitripleone

Ayitripleone New Fapstronaut

I'm new to NoFap and I am four days in, everything was going well until I decided to tell my girlfriend about my PMO problem. She didn't react in a bad way or anything, actually she reacted better than I expected. The problem is that I feel embarrassed and I somehow regret telling her.

I don't know why I feel this way, I feel like I betrayed my self. I feel like I exposed myself. I'm a little angry at myself, will this feeling go away?

2. I'm sorry that you're feeling regret after being honest with your gf, but I believe that was the right thing to do.

You didn't betray yourself. You may have betrayed and exposed the addict part of you, but that's ok because that's what you're trying to rid yourself of in the first place. You took some power away from the addiction by doing that. PA's here talk a lot about exposing the addiction to someone and how it's a necessary part of recovery because the addiction thrives in secrecy. I think what you're probably feeling is shame which is normal. It's a huge part of addiction. But, you can't let the shame drive you back to your addiction just to numb the feelings.

As the SO of a long-time PA, I think telling your gf was a great, positive step for your recovery. By not telling her, you would've been betraying her. Being honest with her was the right thing to do.

Changeiscoming82 likes this.