Who we want to be vs. who we are

Discussion in 'Self Improvement' started by Deleted Account, Apr 28, 2020.

1. Just a thought.

There's generally an emphasis on total transformation on this site.
    For example, and i've mentioned this once, I have a friend who is very slim. In the last year he's been taking steroids, testosterone etc and put on a significant amount of weight.
    He's "totally transformed"
    The thing about this, as we all know, is it's not healthy.
    This is my opinion: A total transformation doesn't happen over night. And for those who are impatient (like myself) will want it to happen over night, and when it doesn't will become frustrated which will cause it's own problems.

Rather than focus on total transformation i will look at recognizing my strong points and perfecting what I'm already good at. Once I perfect the skills I will begin to focus on the thing's i'm not good at.

For example. I am tall and skinny. If I try to deadlift 400lbs I will hurt myself badly. Even deadlifting my own body weight will be difficult.
    I will focus on something like jogging (swimming after this pandemic is over) to help build cardiovascular endurance and an overall level of fitness before i can move on to heavier lifting.

Hopefully this idea is helpful to others here in their own pursuits!

2. Angus McGyver

Angus McGyver Fapstronaut

It seems like your mindset is the right one mate!
    Although I have myself been practicing a sport at semi-professional level for the last 15 years now and been quite slim and fit ever since, I have recently considered to step it down by a fair bit since there have been some recurring aches and pains over the past two months.