1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

Cold Showers?

Discussion in 'Self Improvement' started by Deleted Account, May 12, 2017.

1. Are cold showers actually helpful in the long run? I just took one and feel physically and mentally drained. Maybe it's doing the trick. Anyone who's been doing it for a long time see any benefits?

2. LavaMe

LavaMe Fapstronaut

I've been doing them for a couple of years. None of the benefits has been overwhelming, but they are still benefits. I think my skin is better, not that I care very much. But it has made my face produce less grease. This probably would have been awesome when I was a teenager.

For me the primary benefit is I do find it very relaxing. I find it makes me both alert and calm. It is sort of like how tea is for me. It makes me feel like I have energy but a well controlled energy. Afterwards I could go do something active or go to sleep.

I also always feel like I've accomplished something. Taking a shower isn't a big accomplishment but it is something positive. I fought through it even if I didn't want to take it. So even if the rest of the day was crap at least I took my cold shower.

They never make me feel drained. Maybe you were already worn out? Or maybe they aren't as beneficial for you. I'd keep trying just to see.

LivinginRecovery likes this.
  3. They should wake you up more, not drain you. I take one first thing in the morning everyday, helps me wake up better. It should have benefits, mostly mental benefits. Your hair and skin should get better. I have not used shampoo for ages and I don't need to. My hair no longer gets greasy.

4. Poseidon

Poseidon Fapstronaut

Cold showers? No thanks.

5. Bearish

Bearish Fapstronaut