Budgeting/Money Saving Tips

Discussion in 'Self Improvement' started by Deleted Account, Dec 27, 2017.

1. There are some big goals I'm hoping to accomplish in 2018, and I am wanting to crack down on saving more and spending less. Anyone have any special tips aside from general stuff? I'm already pretty naturally inclined to not buying a bunch of stuff or spending tons of money, but there's always room to improve.

Deleted Account likes this.
  2. I've been investing for the past 6 years and having money not only "tucked away" but continuing to grow gives me great peace of mind. Mutual funds and exchange traded funds are great if you are new to investing and don't want to dive in head first. Stocks with high dividend yield are the foundation of my net worth.

As far as budgeting goes I don't believe I have any worthwhile advice as I believe everyone has a different situation and budgets can and do vary widely. Maybe someone wiser than I can help here.

The best advice I can give is to not be impulsive with money and don't just keep your money locked up in a bank. The interest you'll gain from keeping money in the bank will pale in comparison to actively investing your funds in dividend yielding stocks.

3. Thanks for the tips! I'm really not very good with stuff like investing. All of those numbers get way to complicated for me. But I'm sure my husband will look into this someday. He's good with that stuff.

4. Runtilmylegsdropoff

Runtilmylegsdropoff Fapstronaut

5. Kenzi

Kenzi Fapstronaut

Bring only the amount of money (in cash) you want to spend going into the store and a list of priorities.
    Also, a calculator.
    This will make sure u only spend what you expect going in... No Ooh I Want this Or This!
    It ensures you get what you need.

6. Kenzi

Kenzi Fapstronaut

Make a year budget.
    I can help, if you want.
    I usually do.
    We can PM.

7. BraveBear

BraveBear Fapstronaut

TWO WORDS MY FRIEND: DAVE RAMSEY...changed my life. The man gets it.