1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

High rep or low rep ?

Discussion in 'Fitness' started by Supervinesse, Mar 27, 2023.

1. Supervinesse

Supervinesse Fapstronaut

Hey guys, as said in the title i don't know what is the best to gain muscle, specially legs. I've been following a program but i havnt seen a lot of changes so i was maybe thinking to change it. I've been running this program since 3 months, my upper has improved but not my lower. So i do a Jeff Nippard's PPL, so 2 times legs per week, if you want me to precise how much reps i do and what exercices i do, i will detail.

Actually my routine is squat in heavy 5x3 but i was thinking that this is maybe low, that i should do higher reps, around 15 rep.

What do you guys think ? I tried to find something on internet but all and nothing is said so i dont know what to do.

Ketherlonk and jw2021 like this.
  2. F14

F14 Fapstronaut

Low weight and higher reps is what you want for hypertrophy. I can’t speak to the exact amount of reps to shoot for. No matter what you do don’t stop getting after it brother

Last edited: Mar 28, 2023
  3. Supervinesse

Supervinesse Fapstronaut

Thanks man, i go to gym since 2 years ! wish you the best for you !

4. InappropriateUsername

InappropriateUsername Fapstronaut

Generally for hyperphotry (bigger muscles) low reps with heavier weights is what you want.

How much are you lifting? Low reps you should be pushing 70-80% of your 1 rep maximum m. That last rep should be hard to finish

Rest? Are you taking rest days between workouts? Are you resting between sets? You should need at least 1-2 minutes between sets of a given exercise.