Share your avarice for knowledge.

Discussion in 'Off-topic Discussion' started by Arcture, Jan 28, 2020.

1. Arcture

Arcture Fapstronaut

Hey folks. So I'm a health physics student and its always interesting to hear what people are learning. Tell what you are learning, what you want to learn, and why?

What I am currently learning is radiation biology which goes over the effects of radiation or ionizing particles on the biology with an emphasis on ionization on DNA structures and general medical imaging. I want to eventually learn high energy physics because cosmic rays sound fascinating but that area of particle physics hurts my brain.

Note: This doesn't have to be science or anything related, just share what you're learning.

Deleted Account likes this.
  2. Getting a degree in math to become an actuary. I'm not as smart as the physics guys though.

3. CodeTalker

CodeTalker Fapstronaut

Learning korean. The big plan is to learn korean first, then learn japanese using korean and then learn chinese (mandarin) using japanese. I'm intermediate level in korean and beginner in japanese. Every day I'm learning new words and talking with native.

The reason for this order is simple : Korean has an easy scripture system and the grammar is similar to japanese. And japanese have kanji that are chinese characters.

I probably won't get to the chinese part in my life though...

4. Arcture

Arcture Fapstronaut

That sounds awesome man! Math is a ton of fun and I think you probably don't give yourself enough credit as thats not an easy major but a real important one.

5. Arcture

Arcture Fapstronaut

Sounds super interesting man, I tried learning Korean but I didn't have the commitment to learn it, my gf is super good at languages though.

6. Thanks man. For some reason, I don't think I'd be happy if I had an easy major. Maybe I'm a masochist. Or an elitist.

Arcture likes this.
  7. Arcture

Arcture Fapstronaut