1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

Embrace the hotkey

Discussion in 'Self Improvement' started by Wouter, Dec 7, 2017.

1. Wouter

Wouter New Fapstronaut

As a graphic designer I work a lot behind the screen. When you are much in Photoshop or in Illustrator you'll find out about keyboard shortcut. For example, instead of going to your tools panel to grab the pentool, you can press P. All these hotkeys save a lot of time, but also keep your head clear. Instead of looking and finding the tool, which ask for concentration, a hotkey works with muscle memory. So without even thinking about tools or buttons, you can swap between them. This allows me to focus more on the work I'm doing. There are hundreds of hotkeys in the Adobe program, and I'm keen to learn them all. In the beginning Photoshop was like a maze I was walking in, searching for the way to my goal. Now it's like an extension of myself. And gives me a happier experience behind my computer.

Not everybody works with Photoshop. But hotkeys are everywhere on your PC or Mac. And I want to learn them all. I use Chrome a lot. Hotkeys in Chrome are like heaven on earth. Instead of using my mouse to swap between my tabs, I use, Ctrl + tab, Ctrl + 1-9, I don't even have to think about it. When I want to close a tab, I use Ctrl W. If I close the wrong tab, Ctrl + shift + T. If I want to duplicate I use a magical one: Ctrl + L, and then Alt + Enter, you get the picture. There are even extensions for this, which allow you to use add even more.