1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

Can Men and Women be Friends?

Discussion in 'Loneliness' started by tin_man, Nov 16, 2015.

1. tin_man

tin_man Fapstronaut

This topic has been bothering me for almost a couple of years and relates directly to my loneliness.

I am a 25 year old male who has two female friends, whom I met both of them in high school, for almost nine-ten years. We do not hang out often or even together, based on our busy lives. On the other hand, we occasionally hang out whenever we have free time.

My only reason for hanging out with both of them is because back then I never had a close relationship with anybody, especially right when I graduated from college. That was when I called to meet them. From then on, we enjoyed talking to each other and giving advice to one another about our current problems.

However, all of my family members kept saying to me that I should not waste my time with them and find a girlfriend. They argued that men should only have male friends, while women should only have female friends. This made me want to search online for more information about this topic. As it turns out, everyone would state that men and women cannot be friends because there is a sexual motive behind it.

For some reason, I "half-agreed" with what they said and also "half-disagreed" with them at the same time. My only concern is that I am afraid that if I lose my two female friends, then I have no one else to have as one of my friends.

iborntobefree likes this.
  2. cuddler

cuddler Fapstronaut

:D So you have 2 female friends and you are asking whether is it possible to have female friends.
    Well, ok. I think it is possible.

XPiRED likes this.
  3. JoeinUSA

JoeinUSA Fapstronaut

If all involved expect and want to be platonic friends, yes - definitely -- and it is healthy.

4. Ducati