1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

How do you love yourself?

Discussion in 'Off-topic Discussion' started by DaddyFatSac, Dec 9, 2018.

1. DaddyFatSac

DaddyFatSac Fapstronaut

Being 18, I’m new to this idea of loving oneself. I’ve never really had a hard time talking to attractive girls, but I’ve seen a reoccurring theme throughout recent relationships since the beginning of high school. I get too attached. Lack of affection from my parents during my childhood created this seemingly unbreakable fear of abandonment. I’ve tried everything from working out, sports, journaling, no PMO, and meditation but none of it helps because the second I’m alone in my room loneliness creeps in. The fear of abandonment has led me to being vulnerable too quick, getting aggressively jealous, and breaking down at the thought of losing someone I had a genuine connection with. I don’t want to feel like I NEED someone in my life. I understand that in order to truly love someone, you have to love yourself. If you don’t love yourself, you’ll only love that person for the way they make you feel which is totally selfish and toxic. Any tips from someone that’s overcome this?

2. Ra's Al Ghul

Ra's Al Ghul Fapstronaut

Psalm 27:10 For my father and my mother have forsaken me, but the Lord will take me in.

Go to God.

ManHvnBnd and Dr. Jekyll like this.
  3. I date myself. I take myself on dates to my favorite restaurants. I but myself gifts, and set the delivery date far in the future so I forget about the purchase. I assume that I have to have a good relationship with myself before I have a healthy relationship with someone else.