1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

Procrasturbation

Discussion in 'Self Improvement' started by Marty Bryant, Aug 24, 2017.

1. Marty Bryant

Marty Bryant Fapstronaut

I often have used masturbation to procrastinate in the past. Now instead I post on this website to procrastinate...

In the past masturbation would be a really good study break. I am studying all day every day for the MCAT which is the test you need to pass in order to get into med school. While studying for this I would often masturbate to alleviate some of the stress that comes with preparation for this colossal exam. It is always very tempting.

Any ideas of how to deal with procrasturbation?

Deleted Account, li_89_am and A41:14A like this.
  2. sparkywantsnoPMO

sparkywantsnoPMO NoFap Moderator & Yeoman

I would say work on making SMART goals (it’s an acronym you can lookup), and stick to them. Make yourself deadlines you know you can reach. And once you complete that studying, reward yourself with a healthy break (something you won’t binge on, maybe one tv show, a 30 minute walk, a food you enjoy).

Tanmay1996, samnf1990 and A41:14A like this.
  3. Hey mate!

I had the same problem you have. I also got very stressed and angry during my study and used to let off steam with masturbation. It is good that you are aware why you masturbate. You need not an orgasm, but break. So have one! I break my study time into 1.5 hour long session, after each session I have a short break about 15 minutes long. After every third session I have a longer break. This works for me very well, but you may want to experiment a little bit to find a perfect timing that works for you. Some people use pomodoro technique, it can work for you.

Just remember that everytime you want to masturbate what you really need is a break.

A41:14A likes this.