1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

Building a Positive Mindset, One Small Habit at a Time

Discussion in 'Self Improvement' started by asfixiated, Oct 16, 2015.

1. asfixiated

asfixiated Fapstronaut

Why I'm writing this post

One of my greatest issues when I started NoFap for the first time - and one that still follows me around every time I try it - is overcommitment. I always expect a lot from myself, even though I'm just getting started. I make these all-encompassing sets of goals that are completely impractical, and end up paying the price.

But I've gotten better at it, and I want to share some of the things I've learned, as well as some good techniques for setting goals and managing expectations. A lot of this comes from Duhigg's The Power of Habit, but it's advice I've heard in a lot of places in many different forms.

Why do we overcommit?

The main reasons that we overcommit are:
    • We want to change our lives and become the person we should be now
    • We don't want to feel like we're "slacking" - we want to be like our accomplished friends who do "everything, all the time"
    • We believe our commitments are "small" - no way we can't keep them all, right?
    But isn't making commitments just a reflection of ambition? What's wrong with that?

There's a difference between ambition and zeal. You wouldn't go to the gym, put 300lbs. on the squat rack and attempt to do a set of squats if you'd never done a squat in your life before! And yet here you are, committing to "10 Daily Habits that Will Change Your Life" when you've never even had one daily habit that you've committed to, ever. Start small.

So what to I do? How do I squat 300lbs. of habits?